Hindi News | Samay | UP/Uttarakhand | MP/Chhattisgarh | Bihar/Jharkhand | Rajasthan | Aalami Samay
  Rashtriya Sahara Roznama Sahara
Notification for first phase of UP polls issued
Last Updated : 17 Jan 2017 05:32:45 PM IST
(File photo)
(File photo)

The notification for the first phase of Uttar Pradesh assembly elections was issued on Tuesday.

Seventy-three assembly constituencies spread across 15 districts of western Uttar Pradesh would be going to polls in the first phase of the crucial elections, which will be held on February 11.

Western Uttar Pradesh has been witness to a major riot in Muzaffarnagar and many a communal tensions in the past five years of the Samajwadi Party (SP) rule, making it politically the most interesting round of polls even as the security agencies are keeping a tight watch, for fear of communal polarisation and unrest.

The districts going to polls in the first phase are Hapur, Bulandshahr, Aligarh, Mathura, Hathras, Agra, Firozabad, Shamli, Muzaffarnagar, Baghpat, Meerut, Ghaziabad, Gautam Buddha Nagar (Noida), Etah and Kasganj.

Vote Verified Paper Audit Trail machines would be used in Agra (Agra Cantt and Agra South), Aligarh (Aligarh), Ghaziabad (Ghaziabad), and Meerut (Meerut), a poll panel official told media.

With the notification, the poll process of filing nominations and campaigning has also begun.

The last date to file nominations is January 24 while scrutiny of nomination papers would be held on January 25.

Candidates in fray can withdraw their nominations by January 27.

Voting would be held on February 11 while counting of votes would be done on March 11, along with that of rest of the seats that goes to polls later, in the six phases.


For Latest Updates Please-

Join us on

Follow us on

What binds the two most talked about nations - India and Pakistan together? What makes the

Actor-turned-politician and Trinamool Congress’ celebrity legislator from Chandipur Asse

LG Electronics Inc said on Wednesday that it will introduce new C with its artificial inte


Samay Live
Samay Live
Samay Live
Samay Live
Samay Live
Samay Live
Samay Live
Samay Live