Hindi News | Samay | UP/Uttarakhand | MP/Chhattisgarh | Bihar/Jharkhand | Rajasthan | Aalami Samay
  Rashtriya Sahara Roznama Sahara
BJP wins UP block panchayat chief polls; PM Modi lauds party workers
Last Updated : 10 Jul 2021 11:47:29 PM IST


The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Saturday registered an emphatic victory in elections for the posts of block panchayat chief in Uttar Pradesh, winning 635 out of 825 seats for which block panchayat chiefs were to be elected. However, there were also reports of widespread violence during the polling process, which took place from 11am to 3pm.

Taking to his Twitter handle, PM Modi said that the people of UP have benefitted from the BJP government’s policies. “@BJP4UP has also raised its flag in the election of block chiefs in Uttar Pradesh. @myogiadityanath The benefits that the public has got from the government's policies and public interest schemes have been reflected in the party's massive victory. All party workers deserve congratulations for this victory,” he wrote.
Meanwhile, the Union Minister of Home Affairs and the Minister of Co-Operation, Amit Shah also took to Twitter to celebrate the victory. The BJP minister handed the victory to PM Modi. “Uttar Pradesh Block Chief Elections @BJP4UP Prime Minister got this grand victory @narendramodi under the guidance of Ji. It is the result of the public's faith in the welfare policies of the Yogi government. Congratulations to Ji and all the hardworking workers of the party,” he tweeted.
The counting of votes for UP Block Panchayat Chief concluded at 3 PM on Saturday. Votes were polled for the 476 posts of block panchayat chiefs in the state. As per reports, BJP managed to bag all seats of 8 blocks in Lucknow and Kannauj. The party also registered victory of six out of eight seats in Moradabad and three seats out of six in Bhadohi. The BJP also managed to stay victorious in 15 seats out of 19 in Sitapur, where three seats were won by SP.
The party also claimed victory in 14 seats out of 19 blocks in Hardoi. BJP won comfortably in 14 seats in Agra and managed to defeat SP in Barauli Aheer, BJP defeated SP. The counting took with strict security arrangements set by Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath. The tough security was set up following a series of violent clashes in the state, which broke out during the nomination filings.

For Latest Updates Please-

Join us on

Follow us on

What binds the two most talked about nations - India and Pakistan together? What makes the

Actress Kritika Kamra is excited to work with National Award-winning filmmaker Nagraj Manj

LG Electronics Inc said on Wednesday that it will introduce new C with its artificial inte


Samay Live
Samay Live
Samay Live
Samay Live
Samay Live
Samay Live
Samay Live
Samay Live