Hindi News | Samay | UP/Uttarakhand | MP/Chhattisgarh | Bihar/Jharkhand | Rajasthan | Aalami Samay
  Aalami Sahara Rashtriya Sahara Roznama Sahara
ICC T20 World Cup 1st Semifinal: Sri Lanka beat Pakistan to enter final
Last Updated : 05 Oct 2012 01:44:26 PM IST
T20 World Cup Semifinals
Sri Lanka's captain Mahela Jayawardene, left, watches his shot against Pakistan during their ICC Twenty20 Cricket World Cup semifinal match in Colombo, Sri Lanka, Thursday, Oct. 4, 2012.


Sri Lanka defeated Pakistan by 16 runs in the first semi-final of the ICC World Twenty20 in Colombo on Thursday evening.

Pakistan vs Sri Lanka: Live cricket score

Earlier, opting to bat, Sri Lanka scored 139 for four against Pakistan in the first semi-final of the ICC World Twenty20.

Host Sri Lanka won the toss and elected to bat first against Pakistan in the 1st Semifinal of ICC T20 World Cup 2012 here at R Premadasa Stadium.

Sri Lanka captain Mahela Jayawardene won the toss and elected to bat against Pakistan in the first semi-final of the ICC World Twenty20 here today.

Such was Jayawardene's dominance that he scored 34 of the first 50 runs with Dilshan's contribution being only 15.

In the 11th over, Afridi finally got his man when Jayawardene shuffled across the off-stump to play another lap-shot but it didn't have the power to clear Hassan stationed at short fine leg.

Jayawardene's 42 came off 36 balls during which he struck boundaries.

New man in Kumar Sangakkara started on a positive fashion hitting three lovely fours but perished trying to be over-ambitious being holed out at long-on off Hafeez's bowling. Sangakkara managed only 18.

The home team reached 100 at the end of the 15th over but their struggle started after that.

Dilshan and left-hander Mendis played too many dot balls in that phase which increased the pressure on the home team. In fact Dilshan's struggle was to such an extent that it took him 31 deliveries to hit his third boundary having hit the second one in the second over.

Umar Gul, introduced in the 16th over, bowled fast and full to both Dilshan and Mendis to make their life miserable.

Mendis was adjudged leg before to a delivery that pitched on blockhole but TV replays showed that Gul had overstepped and the decision was reversed. Finally, Gul ended Dilshan's misery with another fuller delivery that the batsman missed to be adjudged leg-before.

The Dilshan-Mendis duo could add only 33 runs in the five overs they played together. Mendis was then stumped off an Ajmal delivery when he tried to give the charge after struggling for 18 deliveries to score his 15.

Both the teams have made one change in their playing eleven. While Sri Lanka have brought in Rangana Herath in place of Akila Dananjaya, Pakistan have replaced Abdul Razzaq with left-arm pacer Sohail Tanvir.

Sri Lanka have been aiming to settle the score of 2009 T20 World Cup defeat in the final with the sub-continent rival.

However, it will be a battle between mighty Lankan batting line-up and quality spin attack of Pakistan.

The confidence level of Pakistan is at peak after defeating Australia by 32 runs in a crucial super- Eight match on Monday. Pakistani spinners rose on the occasion to restrict Australia for 117/7 in a do-or-die match.

Here in the semifinal, another quality spin show is expected for Pakistan against Sri Lanka.

On the other hand, experienced trio of Mahela Jayawardene, Kumara Sangakkara and Tilakratne Dilshan will have the responsibility of countering Pakistan bowling.

Stay tuned with us to get the live cricket score of Sri Lanka vs Pakistan.

Brief Scores:

Sri Lanka: 139 for four in 20 overs (Mahela Jayawardene 42, Tillakaratne Dilshan 35; Mohammad Hafeez 1/12).

Pakistan: 123 for seven in 20 overs (Mohammad Hafeez 42, Umar Akmal 29 not out, Rengana Herath 3/25).

Brief Scores:

Sri Lanka: 139 for four in 20 overs (Mahela Jayawardene 42, Tillakaratne Dilshan 35; Mohammad Hafeez 1/12).

The Teams:

Sri Lanka: Mahela Jayawardene (capt), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Kumar Sangakkara, Angelo Mathews, Jevvan Mendis, Lahiru Thirimanne, Thisara Perera, Nuwan Kulasekara, Lasith Malinga, Rangana Herath, Ajantha Mendis.

Pakistan: Mohammad Hafeez (capt), Imran Nazir, Nasir Jamshed, Kamran Akmal, Shoaib Malik, Umar Akmal, Shahid Afridi, Umar Gul, Sohail Tanvir, Saeed Ajmal, Raza Hasan.


For Latest Updates Please-

Join us on

Follow us on

Post Your Comment (0 posted):
Post your comment Post Your Comments
Your name :
Your e-mail address :
Your website :
Add your comments :
Please enter the code you see in the image:

Actress Shraddha Kapoor has given a glimpse of her younger and older looks in the upcoming

A man in Pakistan's Punjab province has been surviving on leaves and wood for the last 25

Days after Samsung launched its flagship devices Galaxy S8 and S8+, its South Korean rival

Samay Live

Samay Live


Samay Live
Samay Live
Samay Live
Samay Live
Samay Live
Samay Live
Samay Live
Samay Live